India temporarily bans entry of passengers from 36 countries

In order to combat the Coronavirus outbreak, the Indian Government has imposed temporary travel bans and banned entry of passengers from 36 countries. The government has also decided that people travelling from 11 countries will be mandatorily quarantined for safety of other people around them. The Home Ministry has reported that Overseas Citizen of India (OCI) card holders, except from the restricted countries will have to obtain fresh visas and will be allowed to enter India. A home ministry spokesperson said, "No airline will bring any passenger from Australia, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom effective 12 GMT March 12 at Port of departure". Airlines are banned from bringing passengers from Philippines, Malaysia and Afghanistan as well. For the benefit of the foreigners currently present in India, their visas will be extended if they approach their jurisdiction of FRRO/ FRO online. 

You can share this post!