New IAF Chief

The Indian Air Force got its new chief on Monday, September 30. Rakesh Kumar Singh Bhadauria took over as the Air Chief Marshal from Air Marshal BS Dhanoa. Air Chief Marshal Dhanoa retired from the forces at the age of 62 with 41 years of service experience in the Air Force and is succeeded by Air Marshal Bhadauria, who has an experience of 39 years in the Air Force. Air Chief Marshal Bhadauria hails from Korath, a village near Agra and is an alumnus of the National Defence Academy. He was commissioned as a fighter pilot of the Indian Air Force in June 1980.


He has held various esteemed positions in the Indian Air Force and had won the 'Sword of Honour'. Bhadauria has experience of commanding a Jaguar squadron and a premier Air Force Station. He has a total experience of 4,250 hours of flying on 26 types of fighter and transport aircrafts. Air Marshal Bhadauria happens to be one of the very few Indian Air Force pilots who have flown a Rafale jet. He has been awarded several medals including the Ati Vishisht Seva Medal (January 2013), the Vayu Sena Medal (January 2002) and the Param Vishisht Seva Medal (January 2018).

You can share this post!